And that’s a wrap! Over. Kaput. Donezo. Two years in Mexico done in the blink of an eye. You know it’s really true that the older you get, the faster the time goes. It feels like 10 minutes ago that we were just starting the 2016-2017 school year, meeting new friends, setting up our classrooms, and meeting our kiddos for the first time. Now, it’s June, and I’m sipping coffee on a Thursday morning wearing my pjs in rainy Minnesota and trying to put thoughts into words.

There have been blog posts trying to write themselves in my mind over the past six months, but nothing was ever interesting or pressing enough to share. Now, thinking back over this last school year, I realized that I learned a lot about myself and who I am. Last year was constant friends and go, go, go, but this year was much more “me” time. Reflection and probably a bit of overthinking naturally pair well with copious amounts of alone time, and at the beginning of April, I realized that I had regrets–not of the things that I have done but of opportunities missed. “Why did I not tell that one guy in high school who treated me badly to go to hell?”, “Why didn’t I tell that person I cared about so much how I felt about them?”, or “Why didn’t I take advantage of that opportunity to do __________?”.

This realization couldn’t have come at a more appropriate time because spring break was a week later, and I told myself that I wouldn’t miss any more opportunities. I’m a naturally cautious person, so this is the mental flow chart that I composed to help in decision making (I know, have you ever heard of anything more type A?).

  1. Am I stopping myself from doing this because I’m scared?
  2. Will it hurt someone or me?
  3. Will I wish that I had done this later?

If the answers to those questions were yes, no, and yes respectively, I forced myself to do whatever it was which is why in one day, I cliff jumped, snorkeled, and ziplined into the water all for the first time. I traveled the Yucatan mostly by myself for two weeks spending time in Merida and Tulum and seeing all of the incredible sights. When I returned home, I had no regrets, and it felt awesome!

I extended my attitude towards spring break to the rest of life, and over the past two months, it gave me the power to make some choices that were mentally healthy for me and drastically improved my quality of life. So, here’s to regrets and their power to help make positive life changes!

I am home for a month before I leave for Kwajalein in the Marshall Islands where I plan to continue living with as few regrets as possible. Have a great summer!

